About Us
Kerala High Court
Guest Book
Contact Us
Todays News
Search Judgements
  Kerala High Court

By virtue  of  its  quasi-federal  scheme  of  existence  under  its Constitution,  India  has  been  classified into 28 states. Each of these   Indian   States   have  their  own  High Court  exercising  jurisdiction  over  its  territories. The  High  Court  is  the highest court in a particular  State and  has exclusive original jurisdiction on matters  relating  to  the  State  where it is located. In terms of  the  Constitution of  India, a High Court has  power to  issue  directions, orders and  writs including the writs in the nature of   Habeas   Corpus,   Mandamus,   Prohibition, Quo   Warranto  and Certiorari  for enforcement of the fundamental rights guaranteed  to  the  citizens  under   the   Constitution   or   for  any  other  purpose. The  High  Courts have  superintendence  and visitorial  jurisdiction     over     all     inferior     Courts     and    Tribunals throughout  the  territory   in   relation   to   which  it  exercises jurisdiction, as provided in the Constitution of India.

Kerala  is  one  such  State  located  on the Southwestern tip of India with the Arabian Sea  on  the West and the Western Ghats towering  500 - 2700  meters  on  the  East.   For  adminstrative purpose Kerala is divided into fourteen districts. Malayalam is the language of Kerala. Kerala  has  100% literacy rate and English is widely spoken here. The  climate is tropical. Temperatures range between 22  degrees  celcius  to 33  degrees  celcius  depending upon the time of year.

The   Honourable   High   Court   of   Kerala   in   Ernakulam  was established  on  Ist  of  November  1956.  It  is  now located  in a very modern and multi-storeyed building near the picturesque    Ram  Mohan  Palace   near   the  back waters  of  the Arabian Sea at Kochi which is now the Judicial Academy for training of judges. All High Court halls are air-conditioned and the building has elevators to all floors.
 The business and exercise  of  the  powers  of the High Court of Kerala  are  regulated  by  the  provisions contained in the Kerala High Court Act, 1958  and  the Rules of the High Court of Kerala, 1971   prescribed   there-under.  The  High  Court  has   Original, Appellate as well as Revisional  jurisdiction in both civil as well as criminal matters apart from the power to answer reference under certain statutes. The High Court of  Kerala  extends its territorial jurisdiction  to  the entire State of Kerala and the Union Territory of Lakswadeep. The High Court constitutes its judicial obligations through  judges  sitting  single, in  division and when an occasion demands to larger benches.

The names of the Hon'ble Judges are:
    • The Hon'ble Chief Justice Mr. Justice Ashok Bhushan
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice Thottathil B. Radhakrishnan
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice K.T. Sankaran
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice T.R Ramachandran
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice Antony Dominic 
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice Valiyaparambil Kuttappan Mohanan
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice P.N Ravindran
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice K. Surendra Mohan
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice P.R Ramachandra Menon
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice C.K Abdul Rahim
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice C.T Ravikumar
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice P. Bhavadasan
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice V. Chithambaresh
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice A.M Shaffique
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice K. Harilal
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice K. Vinod Chandran
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice Babu Mathew P. Joseph
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice A.V Ramakrishna Pillai
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice P.D Rajan
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice K. Ramakrishnan
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice B. Kemal Pashal
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice A. Hariprasad
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice D.Seshadri Naidu
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice P. Ubaid
    • The Hon'ble Justice Mr. K. Abraham Mathew
    • The Hon'ble Justice Mr. Alexander Thomas
    • The Hon'ble Justice Mr. A.Muhamed Mustaque
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice A.K. Jayasankaran Nambiar
    • The Hon'ble Mr. Justice Anil K. Narendran
    • The Hon'ble Justice Mrs. P. V. Asha
    • The Hon'ble Justice P. B. Suresh Kumar

Home | About Us | Kerala High Court | Judgements | Guest Book | Contact Us

Conceived & hosted by : Satish Murti